Museu Picasso

Ígor Stravinsky

(Oranienbaum, 1882 – New York, 1971)

Between 1910 and 1914 Russian composer Igor Stravinsky lived alternately between his homeland and Paris. As a result of the Russian Revolution he sought permanent exile, and in 1920 settled in France. In 1934 he assumed French nationality and in 1940 he moved to the United States. A disciple of Rimsky-Korsakov's, his first original work was Fireworks (1908), an orchestral composition praised by Sergei Diaghilev. The impresario went on to commission a few ballets from him, among them The Firebird, which was performed in Barcelona by the Ballets Russes in 1917. Stravinsky's extensive oeuvre comprises around a hundred works from three key stages in his career: his Russian production, his Neoclassical period and his serial compositions.

Picasso stripped back his portraits ruthlessly, erasing inessential information, clarifying the main contours. It is a compelling characterisation: not in the least flattering, but testament to the precision of Picasso’s eagle eye, to Stravinsky’s lack of vanity and to their mutual understanding.


Portrait of Igor Stravinsky in Profile
31 de desembre de 1920
Pencil on paper
34,6 x 24,1 cm
Col·lecció particular

Room 3